What are PIP Limits?
PIP limits are the maximum amount your insurance company will pay for a single accident. PIP has a limit of $15,000 as per Oregon statute and coverage expires two years from the accident date. It also covers your It covers your wage loss up to $3,000 for 52 weeks. It covers loss of essential services for up to $30 a day. There may be exceptions to these rules, so it’s advisable to check with your insurance representative or your attorney to verify your own situation.
Who Does PIP Cover?
Oregon personal injury protection insurance covers all the occupants of the car. It also covers pedestrians and cyclists hit by a car. If you do not have auto insurance and do not have health insurance, then the other driver's insurance should pay your medical bills. Chiropractic care, Osteopathic care, medical doctor care and hospital care will be paid. Consult your attorney for specifics.
How do I start my benefits to see a chiropractor?
Call your insurance agent and report the crash. If you are hurt, it is ok to go to the hospital or doctor without getting insurance company permission. Get the medical attention you need. If you are injured, tell your agent and ask that a PIP claim be started. You should expect a call from an insurance adjustor who will ask you questions about your car crash. You should cooperate with this insurance adjustor. Be sure you are speaking with the insurance adjustor who has been assigned your PIP claim. The insurance adjustor should send you a PIP Application, or Application for Benefits. Be sure to ask that it be sent. Complete this application and send it back to the insurance company right away. If you have questions about what you are filling out, call your attorney.